While I was researching my author, I learned that some of the main characters in the book were based on Lee herself.  Lee based the main character, Scout Finch, on herself.  She based another main character, Atticus Finch, the father of Scout, on her own father.  And she based the little boy who the character Scout was good friends with, Dill, on her good friend in real life, Truman Capote.  I think this is really cool, because it makes the book seem deeper and more real.  By giving these characters personalities based on real world people, I can connect more to these characters, and understand why they do what they did, instead of having a character have an unreal personality that I can't connect to.  The fact that she makes the characters based on real people makes me enjoy the book even more.



Leave a Reply.